Lieke - Australië en Nieuw-Zeeland 2015/2016

English version of Queenstown, deep south and milford sound

For you glen a the details in dutch also in English this time. It is a very long story, but when you want to how it to have no key in the middle of nowhere, you have to read the hole story.

Early awake for the bus to Wanaka. We will pick up at 7.15 am. The first part of the ride brings use to Fox glacier. In Fox glacier we had walked for 1,5 hours to a lake of reflection. After the walk it starts raining and than you can't see the reflection of the mountains in the lake anymore. The second part of the ride brings use to a beach. Normally you can see dolphins from this beach. This day it was raining and cold so you can't see dolphins. So the bus leaved this spot very quickly. In the eind of the morning we arrived in Wanaka and saw the town and went to the supermarket.

In the evening I decided to go to the cinema. I saw the movie hunger games part 4 in a special cinema. This cinema is very small and full of old moviestuff. I saw the movie from a sofa and in the middle you have a break with a cookie. After the movie I walked in Wanaka, but only the pubs were nice in the evening. Because there is not a lot of streetlight I went directly to the hostel.

We walked around the lake of Wanaka on sunday. It was a walk around 2 hours and we also went to the trainstationpark with the biggest tree from hole Wanaka. When you walk, you have a nice view of the lake and the mountains with snow. From the hostel you have also a nice view of both of this things. After the walk, we pland the activities for Queenstown.

We been pick up from this nice city to go to Queenstown the next day. First of all we stopped by the puzzleworld, were you can choose to do a walk or puzzleworld. I choose the walk but not to the top of the mountain. I want to do something, but nog a long walk. From halfway of the mountain the view of Wanaka was amazing to saw. First in time you can see a lot of local homes. After that we went to cormwell to take a picture and arrived in the end of the morning in Queenstown. The sun was shinning, so we went to the park to chill there. I went to the office of climbingorganization, because for tuesday stay climbing on the programm. In the evening we want to do something, so we decided to do a xd dark ride. It is a shooting game were the actions are feeling in your chairs. It feels like you playing a shooting game in a rollarcoaster.

On tuesday morning I awake early. After I had maked my bread for the day, I went to the climbing pick up point. When I arrived there, I heard the guides was sick, so the climbing is moved to thursday. So the hole day I walk to Queenstown. I tould Queenstown is a big place, but you can walk in ten minutes from one side to the other side. In the afternoon in set some pictures on my travelblog and writing a lot about or nice time in New Zealand.

We wake also early on Wensday. We have a super awesome activiteit on the planning for today. It is a activity that can canceld with bad weather and strong wind so first we call the office. The activity is going so we went to the pick up point. With a bus we went to coronet peak. Coronet peak is 3750 feet high. First we get or harness and than we meet or instructuur. Yes I went paragliding. When I get the harness, I was a bit nervous. Happy that I not the only one with afraid of highs. My instructuur is also afraid of highs. After the lesson of only running and after running your legs in the air, we start with running. When we are in the air my nervous is completly disappear and I enoy the view. First I fly and after a few minutes the instructuur ask to controll the paraglid by myself. What easy to control a paraglid. After a few move, we flight to far. We had to turn back and start landing. One of few with a good landing. When you land you have to run and move forward. After my landing a watch the others landing and after that we go back to Queenstown.

Thursday I can climb, but only for a half day. Because it is too much money for one hole day. When I arrived on the pick up place I was the only one except the instructuur. We went to the climbingarea and first I did a few boulders. After that I start with ten routes of small climbing. After the small one, I did two big climbings. The grades in Nieuw Zealand are diffent that in Europe, because they us the Australia grades. So i climb between 13 and 22, waths means I climb 5a till 6b. After big climb it is finished. I want to climb more but it was too expencive, so went to the hostel. In the hostel I was my cloths and we had planned the trip for Australia.

We leaved Queenstown on Friday with the bottom bus to Dunedin. The first stop in by a fruitmarket. We buyed some fruit and after that we went to Cromwell to lunch. We drived to Dunedin after the lunch and start with a citytour from the bus in Dunedin. First we saw the very prity studenthomes. After the university we get the steepest street of the world. For every 2,1 km you walk, you climb 1 km. I walked this street and enoyed the view of Dunedin from there. Then I walked down and we went to the hostel. After check in first we eated and than a citywalk. We walked to some streetart and the trainstation. On the citymap stay more streetart than we can find.


On saterday contiued or trip to invercargill. On the way we maked a lot of stops for pictures and walking. On the trip we saw some seals, sealions and pinguins. The first stop is a beach with typicall new zealands rocks. After the beach we drived to the place called haere mai. We stop for a walk to alight house called nugget point. The wind is here very strong and good for getting windy. It is here so windy that the wind can move you. On this route you can spot some seals. Than we start an other walk on cannibal bay where you can spot sealions. There are two sealions on the bay. In the winter there are more sealions, but now you can saw two sealions. One was sleeping on the end of the beach and an other one was very active on the beach. A few people of the group had not past the sealions and have too wait before they can pas. Because the sealions was one that moment to active to pas. When you pas an active sealion you have to had 10 metres between you and the sealion and don't block the way to the sea. The differents between a seal and a sealion isn't easy to say. On the pictures I maked you can't see the differents because I take the pictures from the sealions from nearby and the seals from far away. After the sealions we went to a waterfall. This one of the more beautifull falls I saw. After that we went to hill loukout point. We start a walk a few minutes from the lookout. This is or second last walk for the day. When we all leaved the bus, the busdriver say the key is broken. We are stuck in the middle of nowhere. There is no signal, but there is one car leaving. So the busdriver went with them for signal. After 30 minutes he came back with a lot of keys, but not one of them fits. So the office have to bring a new key. That will took 2 hours, so the busdriver start with a few people of the group a walk. To the people that stay on the bus he said, I am by the brights. Someone from the office came and try the key. The key works, but he put the bus on his feet. So we have to leave the bus and puss it from his feet. After that we pick the busdriver up and drive streat to Invercargill. First things all the people did in Invercargill was shopping, because the supermarket is open till 9 o'clock and it was 8.45 pm. After shopping we went to the hostel and eat something. A small group from the bus took a drink after eating.

We went to the milford sound on sunday the 13th of december. First I packed my backpack. When I want to pack my coolingbag from the ground, my backpack fell on the ground. Now I know I had to where my backpack clicks. After that a long drive stay on the planning. We went directly to Gaston to change a bus. The first part we drive was from Gaston to the anau. By the anau we had a lunch break. This is the last place with mobile signal. For 8 hours os this, hopely not the same as yesterday. From here to the milford sound ypu drive pn the miford sound road. The road is start building in 1929 for people to have work. Because the world war the road is open in 1953 but only for five months of the year. Because the tourism more populair in 1970 the road starts open for the hole year. When you drive this road when it is raining you can see a lot of waterfalls. With sunshinning you can't see this waterfalls. In the winter is this a ski area. Today it a raining day so you saw a lot more waterfalls a normal. I saw a lot of highlights but it waa cloudy, so you can't saw the top of all the mountains. A typical bird of New Zealand, the kea land on the bus. One of the higher stops we had not raining but snowing. So when we drivong this road we had a the four seasons. After the road we did the cruise for 1,5 hours and drived back on this road. Because it is so cloudy the milford sound isn't so nice too see, bur you can't the weather. When we drives back, it took four hours to Queenstown. In this four hours I look a very bad movie.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active